The Village of Glenview


Glenview government at work

Glenview Village Board of Trustees

Meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month in the Village Hall Board Room, 2500 East Lake Avenue.

Glenview operates under a council-manager form of government. The Village President and six Trustees are elected-at-large. Terms are four years and there are no term limits. Village elections are held every two years.

The President, with the concurrence of the Trustees, appoints the Village Manager, responsible for implementing board policies and handling day-to-day operations, as well as members of the various Boards and Commissions responsible for overseeing and regulating different aspects of the Village (see below). 

Boards and Commissions

Village Commissions and Boards serve as regulatory bodies, providing oversight for zoning, planning, appearance and other issues. Unlike the Village Board of Trustees, which is elected, commission members are appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of Trustees.

Standing boards and commissions include: Appearance Commission , Board of Fire and Police Commissioners, Environmental Review Commission , Historic Preservation Commission , Natural Resources Commission , Plan Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals . Commissions that meet on an as-needed basis include:

Building Commission

The Building Commission is charged with making recommendations to the Village Board of Trustees regarding the adoption of building codes and related rules and regulations necessary to protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents and businesses of Glenview, and to hear and pass upon appeals in cases involving Village Staff. Members shall be individuals who are qualified by experience and training to consider matters pertaining to building construction, such as persons engaged in building construction, general contracting, architecture, heating and air conditioning, plumbing and mechanical engineering.

Members: Jeff Heaney, Chair ● Greg Wozniak ● Eric Means ● Thomas Lindsay

Staff: Helen Wiseman, Plan Review Supervisor, Community Development Department

Electrical Commission

The Electrical Commission makes recommendations to the Village Board of Trustees regarding the adoption of electrical codes and related rules and regulations necessary to protect the health, safety and welfare of residents and businesses in Glenview. It hears and passes upon appeals in cases against Village staff and other matters referred by the Village Board.

One member shall be a registered professional engineer, one member shall be an electrical contractor, one member shall be a journeyman electrician, one member shall represent an electricity supply company and one member can be the Fire Chief if there is no representative of an inspectional bureau maintained by the fire underwriters residing in the municipality.

Members: Ralph Ensign, Fire Chief ● Michael Deger ● Norman P. Pearson ● William A. Schult ● Thomas Speck

Staff:  Community Development Department 

2014 meeting dates: February 20, May 22, August 21 and November 20.  All meetings take place at the Fire Administration Office, 1215 Waukegan Road.

Joint Emergency Telephone Service Board

The Joint Emergency Telephone System Board is responsible for coordinating and supervising the implementation, upgrades to or maintenance of the emergency telephone system (911) and overseeing the monies received from the 911 surcharge. The board consists of one member from each municipality to which the Village of Glenview provides dispatch services through Dispatch Service Agreements from two joint dispatch centers that each being a public safety answering point.

Member municipalities: Village of Grayslake, City of Highland Park, City of Highwood, Village of Lake Bluff, City of Lake Forest, Village of Morton Grove, Village of Niles

Professional associations

The Village of Glenview is a member of these government associations:

The Village currently does not have a contract with a lobbyist or lobbying firm. The Village can,  however, retain lobbying services on an as-needed basis.

Archived minutes and agendas

Click here to review archived minutes and agendas for the Village Board of Trustees, Plan Commission, Appearance Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, Historic Preservation Commission, Natural Resources Commission and the former Glen Redevelopment Commission.